top of page

SIXTY YEARS


The picture shows us on the Isle of Man TT Course, taken by Julie on Friday, when we were there to celebrate my 60th birthday. We had never been before and had a lovely weekend exploring the island on the BMW. Good ferry crossing (the rain stopped as we left Liverpool), great accommodation courtesy of Waterfront Apartments, lovely takeaway pizza on Friday and a beautiful meal at Portofino in Douglas on Saturday night. Tracy who managed the apartments was so very helpful with the parking of the bike and looking after our luggage on Sunday before we caught the ferry home. www.waterfrontapartments-iom.com

I never thought I would make it to sixty to be honest. It is a bit of a strange feeling and the first milestone birthday, which has kind of made me look back on my life and think a lot has happened and yet there is so much more to pack in with ever decreasing and more rapidly passing time. Why didn't I think I would make it this far? Well, I have been a bit of a wild-child at times and the way to find out about that is to read my book isn't it?

The only down side of the weekend is that I have decided my motorbiking days are over, because I just don't enjoy it because my "old hips" cause me too much discomfort and leave me concerned I will have a slow speed tumble with Julie on the back, because I can't get my feet down quick enough. So the BMW will have to go and is for sale on ebay (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/331925322160?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649).

It's sad in a way, but I have had a good run with motorbikes over the years and only had one accident, when knocked off whilst stationery! In all honesty there is not enough time in my life for everything anyway and I love and spend so much time cycling I won't miss motorbiking. Cycling makes me feel young, but motorbiking now makes me feel old; there is nothing attractive about an old biker!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Classic

Background is sunrise over Sheffield taken when cycling from Barnsley for a swim

bottom of page