top of page

Our recent holiday to explore Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam.


I had always wanted to return to the Far East so for an early 60th birthday present my wife treated me to a holiday there. I had been to the Far East as a child and later when in the Royal Navy. I think I had a rather romanticised memories from my previous experiences at the tail end of the days of Empire.

The holiday had a number of highlights - a trip to the Bridge Over the River Kwai and several boat trips on the Mekong. Also the lovely meal shown in the photo in a house in a small village by the mighty river. However, overall we did not enjoy our stay as much as we thought we would. We found the contrasts of extreme poverty and obscene wealth difficult to deal with. But the hotels were lovely, with great service and food and the tour was very well organised.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Classic

Background is sunrise over Sheffield taken when cycling from Barnsley for a swim

bottom of page